Our heritage HOMES
North Balgowlah only started becoming a residential area after the Spit Bridge opened in 1924.
Grandview is a splendid example of the houses that were built around this time. Located on Daisy Street, it takes on the 'Californian bungalow' style that swept across the Northern Beaches in the early 1920s -along with American music, motion pictures and milk bars.
It was built in 1918 on a 1081 square metre block. It was in the days when there were many more neighbourly meetings and the front of the house and the garden was where people tended to socialise. The back garden was a place for outdoor play by the family. The sandstone was quarried locally, and most other materials were also sourced near the peninsula.
This block of flats located on Bower Street has been a landmark at the southern end of Manly Beach since 1930, having been built by Mr L Benbow to a design by the architects Peddle Thorp and Walker.
It acquired its name from the owner, Mr W. G. Matohett, who at that time owned a very large sheep station, Borambit near Condobolin in western NSW.
It acquired its name from the owner, Mr W. G. Matchett, who at that time owned a very large sheep station, Borambil, near Condobolln In western NSW.
It was rumoured the building had been financed by one wool clip.
Borambil has eight floors and is largely of an Art Deco style with some Florentine features at the front. Containing 34 units and 22 lockup garages, it is a large presence on e site of 1796 square metres.
The building was initially designed with servants quarters, but these became redundant as customs changed.
Its most attractive foyer is very much in the Art Deco style, with timber panelling made of Tasmanian Blackwood. On the upper exterior, there are striking ceramic panels under a tiling roof.
The red textured brickwork used on the building gives it a bold facade that makes it an iconic Northern Beaches property.
Collaroy has a distinctive precinct, which juts out to its south up to Long Reef Point. It became a very popular residential area from about 1910 onwards.
The beach there still remains a casting off point for fishermen, from a beach protected from a southerly swell.
This area was part of the Jenkins Estate, which was bequeathed to the Salvation Army on the death of Elizabeth Jenkins - the last surviving member of the family.
The region to the east of Pittwater Road began to be sold off by the Salvation Army from 1910 onwards. It was a popular place for country families to come down for their summer holidays.
Clissold Cottage on Beach Street is an excellent example of a beachslde cottage but for residence - not for holiday use, as was the case around Avalon and Palm Beach. The veranda of the house was a point for neighbours to be recognised on their way for a swim or to drop a line.
This home was originally built for William Jackson In 1887, who owned the property until 1913. At that time, the house had seven rooms and over the years, a number have been added.
Given the wealth of Mr Jackson, it can be assumed the family would have had a number of servants - probably a groom, a gardener, cook and housemaid. Unfortunately, this type of detains not recorded.
The house now sits on a site of 1056 square metres and has a unique garden, with four trees (a magnolia, camphor laurel, cook pine and a bunya pine) that are all over 100 years old.
The house has principally been a residence and over the years has also been a school, a Norwegian Seamen's Church, and a house for convalescents. It's most famous resident was, for two years, Edmund Barton, the first prime minister of Australia. The longest term resident was Australian politician Douglas Darby, who lived there from 1953 to 1987.
This beautiful family residence on the corner of White and Woodland streets has been a landmark of Balgowlah for 130 years.
Immediately after World War I, there was a growing number of ﬂats in Manly catering to not only singles working in the city and using the ferry, but families that had lost their male bread winner.
In the suburb, the majority of households led by a female reached about 50 per cent.
The Kylemore ﬂats on Carlton Street were built in 1922 and the first residents were Mrs Gardner-Garden and Miss O’Sheunessy.
The Federation-style flats were named after the town of Kylemore in County Galway, Ireland.
They were located close to the then tramline and within easy walking distance to the shops, the ferry and the beach.
This still remains the case although the tram is long gone. The building faces north and its four ﬂats are testament to a style of living that has quite a history in Manly.